How do you Balance and Unblock your Chakras?

A woman sits on the floor, meditating

Imagine a disk full of spinning energy, filling your body with life force. Now picture at least seven of these disks running along the length of your spine, all of them working together in alignment and harmony to create perfect energy flow within your body. 

Each of these disks is called a chakra—”wheel” in Sanskrit. Chakras are your body’s energy centres. While they’re not actual physical disks that you would see on an x-ray, they are rooted in the philosophy of traditional Chinese medicine and Ayurveda. The seven chakras are part of the Meridian System or “energy body”. Each chakra is made up of an energy flow that corresponds to major organs and particular nerve bundles. 

Recognising your energy body, just as you do your physical body, is important to overall wellbeing. When you are emotionally stressed, physically injured, or ill, one or more of your chakras can get imbalanced, aggravating your condition. Just like how you regularly get your car tuned for smooth driving, to regain a smooth life flow your chakras need to be re-tuned, realigned and sometimes unblocked. 

What are the main chakras?

The body has seven basic chakras. Take a look at each one to understand how they affect the flow of your life. 

Crown Chakra

Found at the top of the head; connected to the pineal gland. This represents your spiritual relationship with the universe. It uplifts, inspires, and connects you to the divine. 

If it is blocked, your life can feel meaningless and empty despite being busy with all your daily tasks. 

If it is aligned, you get a deep sense of trust in the universe and a sort of detachment from your earthly problems. 

Third Eye Chakra

Found between the eyes; connected to the brain and nervous system. Responsible for your intuition and imagination, the Third Eye Chakra provides you with your gut instinct. No wonder it’s also known as your sixth sense.

If it is blocked, you may feel  confused, pessimistic, and cynical.

If it is aligned, you experience mental clarity, decisiveness, and, some say, an affinity for telepathy.

Read: What is Chi? (And Why is it Vital to Health?)

Throat Chakra

Found in your throat; connected to the mouth, tongue, lips, jaws, neck, and shoulders. Working with the Sacral Chakra (which is the seat of your creativity), the Throat Chakra gives you the ability to communicate all your ideas and feelings well. 

If it is blocked, you may experience depression and feelings of low self-esteem. And you may not be able to fully talk about what’s bothering you. 

If it is aligned, you get the confidence to speak about your truth. You will have no problems listening to others and being heard yourself.

Heart Chakra

Located at the centre of the spine, heart level; connected to the heart and lungs. This Chakra is your centre of compassion, kindness, love, empathy, and forgiveness. It’s the bridge between the earth and spirit realms.

If it is blocked, you may feel unhappy and detached from people. You may put up emotional walls and hold grudges. 

If it is aligned, you have a strong sense of trust and fearlessness. You live with a sweeping feeling of peace. 

Solar Plexus Chakra

Located between the belly button and breast bone; connected to the stomach, intestines, gallbladder, liver, pancreas, and spleen. Responsible for your confidence and self-esteem, the Solar Plexus Chakra helps you feel in control of your life. 

If blocked, you may be irrationally aggressive and may try to dominate others, but only because you feel inadequate. 

If aligned, your sense of self is strong; you’ll be motivated, reliable, and will be in a position to inspire others. 

Read: Discover the Benefits of Ayurveda

Sacral Chakra

Located below the navel; connected to the sex organs and kidneys. The Sacral Chakra controls your experiences of sexuality, pleasure, creativity, and emotions. 

If blocked, you’ll feel detached from your emotions and that of others, leading you to be isolated and anxious.

If aligned, you have a strong sense of self-worth, and are a dynamic source of creativity and motivation. Pleasure is a priority for you, and you’ll have no problems expressing what you want out of relationships.

Root Chakra

Located at the base of the spine (your tailbone area); connected to the large intestines, kidneys, bladder, rectum, and sciatic nerve. This Chakra is your life’s foundation. It helps you feel grounded and overcome challenges.

If blocked, you’ll feel insecure about acquiring your basic needs. You may lack a sense of general well-being. 

If aligned, you’ll have a strong sense of security and stability. You’ll feel invincible and strong.

Get the FREE Download

There are several things you can do to unblock your chakras. Download our FREE Life Alignment Chart to find out how:

Get your FREE life alignment chart here